Home » Uncategorized » My report on eggs. Because.

My report on eggs. Because.

I might as well share some of my decision making with you and I’m even going to try to justify it nutritionally.  Below is the detail that is going into my food decisions, and in this case, the argument FOR eggs.  Pastured eggs.

According to Mother Earth News, from 2007, plus a few other sources, here is the breakdown on nutrition gained from pastured eggs vs. conventionally (or industrially) produced eggs:

(My additional information = Calorie count:  140 per pastured egg, just fyi, although calories are not my focus.  RDAs listed below are for ADULTS.  Also, I am not an expert and cannot even tell you where I got some of this info so PLEASE do your own research and do not trust my numbers whatsoever.)

Vitamin A (recommended RDA 900 IU):
Conventional: 487 IU

Pastured avg: 792 IU

Vitamin D (recommended RDA 600 IU):

Conventional: 34 IU

Pastured avg: 136 – 204 IU

Vitamin E (recommended RDA 15 mg – 33 mg if from supplements):

Conventional: 0.97 mg

Pastured avg: 3.73 mg

Beta-carotene (recommended RDA 15 to 20 mg from food – NONE from supplements):

Conventional: 10 mcg

Pastured avg: 79 mcg

Omega-3 fatty acids (recommended RDA 1 – 2 g):

Conventional: 0.22 g

Pastured avg: 0.66 g

Eggs have no glycemic load and are neutral on the inflammatory scale so they do not cause or reduce inflammation.

In addition to the nutritional gains, check out what all you do NOT get with your eggs:  no antibiotics, no hormones, 39% less arachidonic acid (an inflammatory Omega-6 fatty acid that most people eat too much of), and no bad karma.  Yes, I said it.  Vegans may disagree with me on this point, because eggs are baby chickens.  So let’s say there is less bad karma as no one suffers as a result of you eating this egg.  Although a chicken is deprived of life.  So you make the call.

 Anyhoo.

My $6 per dozen of pastured eggs is money well spent. 

Plus, those little babies taste so damn good.  You have never had a better egg, I swear it.

For complete nutrition, you should probably pair them with something that contains any/all of the following:  calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese, and selenium.  So that would dairy, meat, and some veggies (esp. leafy greens) so for me, a touch of pastured meat and some leafy greens.  Sounds like a great scramble to me.  I will be trying this ASAP.

xo

Leave a Reply

