Home » Uncategorized » And, now I have plan.

And, now I have plan.

Welp.  The time has come to commit to a nutrition plan.  I can only read so many books and watch so many documentaries before I eventually have to commit.  No one knows FOR SURE what the best plan should be for most people, much less for people with my issues, so if I keep waiting for definitive proof, it will become just another excuse.

I do not really want to do this because I don’t know what to eat once I eliminate all the stuff I am going to eliminate.  Plus, there will be sacrifices.  Terrible, scary sacrifices.

So here is the plan:

  • No dairy (except eggs)
  • No wheat
  • No sugar (not even honey)
  • No artificial sweeteners (not even Stevia)
  • No oils besides olive oil and nut oils (includes coconut oil).
  • Light, pastured meat (less than 4oz per meal and not every meal)
  • No (or very little) fruit for the first 8 weeks.  (less than 1/2 cup)
  • No coffee (but I will have to ween myself)
  • No grains or oats (even gluten-free)
  • Add necessary supplements

Pretty much, I am allowed vegetables, some pastured meat, nuts & seeds.

The goals of this nutrition plan are:  low glycemic (because I’m automatically pre-diabetic as a person with PCOS), anti-inflammatory, controlled calories (although I probably will not count), and to reset my system, which should take 8 weeks on this plan.  After 8 weeks, I can re-introduce some of the verboten items like healthy grains (no modern wheat) and fruits and a little honey or stevia and coffee.

I am actually most devastated by having to give up the coffee.  It is the only thing that makes getting out of bed worth it, some days.  I am destroyed over this one and not at all sure it’s a good idea and straight up DO NOT WANT TO.  Damnit.  Foot stamping.

I am most curious about the wheat part, though.  I had a pretty good day yesterday in terms of being low glycemic and anti-inflammatory, but then I ate some Trader Joe’s cookies that were hiding in the pantry.  I had shooting pains in my upper abdomen within a few minutes.  Weird, huh?  I really do wonder if I’m gluten intolerant.  According to the book Wheat Belly, we are all intolerant to a certain extent (at least these days).

Anyway, I keep telling my husband we are going to clean out the pantry, but it has not happened yet.  It is about to, though.  I’m heading there next.

Wish me luck.

xo

Update:  Here are the bags of crap that were pulled from the pantry.  Sigh.  I guess I will start an Apocalypse Pile in the garage.  Plus, hubs will want to retrieve some items to store in his car, which is the agreed upon location to stash snacks that I do not want to fall victim to when I’m feeling weak.

youareOUT

Leave a Reply

