Home » Uncategorized » February Produce, or what I hope to find tomorrow!

February Produce, or what I hope to find tomorrow!

Along with all my studies on food + nutrition + all that is encompassed by those topics which shall not be discussed in depth here, I keep reading & hearing that if you want peak nutrition, you need to buy local when you can.

So Wednesday, assuming my day doesn’t turn into one of those blown-up, more-to-do-than-time-available days, I will swing by the Decatur Farmer’s Market where I hope to find any/all of the following items which are allegedly in season:

IN SEASON, IN GEORGIA, IN FEBRUARY

Bok Choy (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

Brussel Sprouts

Cabbage (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

Carrots (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

Collards (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

English Peas

Green Onions (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

Mushrooms

Sweet Potatoes (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

Spinach

Turnips (yep, someone had this – updated 2/21/13)

This list is according to my quick research.  Since I have never paid any attention to such things as “seasonality” of food, nor would have a single damn clue about such things, this will be a new venture, this trying to eat seasonally.  Honestly, other than knowing that you cannot get good watermelon when it is not hot out, I have not the foggiest idea.  I only know this because I do not recall ever having eaten watermelon at any other time besides summertime.  Which, frankly, is good, because who the hell wants to eat watermelon inside?  Where do you spit the seeds when you’re inside?

Also, I have no idea if the above list is correct, so if you DO know and if I am indeed incorrect, then please leave a comment.

I will be interested to see if I can locate any of these items on Wednesday.

I will report back.

xo

4 thoughts on “February Produce, or what I hope to find tomorrow!

  1. By the way, I am considering joining a farm share, where you get boxes of locally grown veggies throughout the harvest season. A friend of mine has done this and found it to be very affordable. I am going to be getting more details from her–I’ll let you know what I find out if you are interested.

    • Yes, very much so! I have a friend who has a CSA, but I don’t love a lot of the stuff they grow, so I have been reluctant to join. Let me know what you find out!!

Leave a Reply

