Home » Uncategorized » Why I can work with a husband who only believes the radio… or, my microwave’s days are numbered

Why I can work with a husband who only believes the radio… or, my microwave’s days are numbered

So my husband does not believe anything I say.  Ever.  I can tell him the most interesting FACT, and he argues with it.  Then, months or years later, he will hear the same FACT on the radio and repeat it to me as if it is brand new information that is absolutely true.

Huh.  So when I said it, it was, what?  The ramblings of a crazed and insane lunatic?

Yes.

Also, my husband is a slow adopter.  He does not like change and handles it in a compliant defiant manner (yes, honey, of course we can grow all our own food.. followed by…  um, oh yea, you wanted me to water the tomato plant?)  I admit that I might reach a bit in some of the things I want to do.

At any rate, I haven’t told him that when we re-do our kitchen, the plan is to get rid of the microwave.  A) I believe, for no other reason than that is is unnatural to cook food with waves of micro, B) Stylistically, it does not vibe with the vintage, homey, but pristine look that I want to go for, and C) He would never go for it if it was my idea.

Thankfully, it is HIS idea to get rid of it!  Because he heard it on the radio!!

I’ll take it.

So, Mr. Mike Roe Wave, your days are numbered.  And here is a nice, nostalgic picture of you so that you may be remembered fondly.  I will miss your timer function badly (right up until I buy a cute old-fashioned one at a thrift store, anyway).

Image

xo

Leave a Reply

