Home » Uncategorized » There will be pictures! Or, I made Kumquat Marmalade (sort of) for the office!

There will be pictures! Or, I made Kumquat Marmalade (sort of) for the office!

Image

One of the owners of the company that holds my license grows crap in containers outside (and inside) the office.  He grows a lot of herbs and vegetables and recently added two cute kumquat trees.  He doesn’t do a damn thing with the stuff he grows.  He just plants it because it’s cute and waters it, but the fruits are left to die on the vine, as it were.  The rest of us in the office pick at the plants occasionally.

I decided that since not one of us knows what the hell you do with a kumquat, I’d make a marmalade out of a few and take it to the office for our little office gathering on Tuesday.

I’ve mentioned that I can’t cook, right?

So this morning I pithed and seeded and pulsed about 15 kumquats and added sugar.  I followed the instructions (found on the interwebs) to a T, but, of course, since I’m a shitty cook, I cooked my teeny-tiny-not-even-a-quarter-of-a-batch too long and cooked all the damn liquid out.

Image

The good news is that I have had a marmalade container (from a thrift store) for like, a billion years that has never been used, so my crunchy, dry, sticks like gorilla glue, marmalade looks really cute.  And, bonus, the fake lemons in my lucite container are the actual size that my kumquats were!

kumquat contained

Delish. (ahem)

xo

Leave a Reply

