Home » Uncategorized » Resolutions, so soon?

Resolutions, so soon?

I know, I know, it’s only, like, December something, but I am going to make some resolutions this year and I am going to keep them!  I have always considered New Year’s resolutions more of a ridiculous resolve to fail, but my head practically spins all the time with ideas and urges and wishes, so this year I plan to plan AND execute.

I have no idea what my resolutions will be, but here are some of my ideas (and I’m not saying they will all be hard):

1.  Keep all potentially useful store bought containers.  I am a bit of a container junkie, but in the spirit of true confessions – I buy them.  I hate clutter and junk and pointless storing of large volumes of CRAP, but so much of what we all buy comes in containers.  Glass jars, glass bottles, plastic containers, cardboard containers – you name it, stuff comes in it.  All of a sudden, a frugal gene has popped open in my head and now I cannot stop myself from trying to save money, resources, effort, whatever.  The way I see it, when I bought that jar of not-very-healthy spaghetti sauce, I also bought a jar.  And I will be damned if I’m going to just toss it out.

It’s funny, too, because when I was younger, I had this idea that the best way to force people to recycle or consume less would be to force them to keep their garbage.  Everyone would have to dedicate a certain amount of space in their lives to maintain their trash.  If you generated it – you should have to keep it or recycle it.  It would be a helluva way to deal with over-consumption!  There are some pretty serious flaws with this plan, but a piece of it can be extracted and kept!  If it’s useful, it should not be tossed out.  Maybe it ends up being donated to a thrift store or given to a friend who can use it or sold in bulk at a yard sale, but it should be kept.  They keep making mason jars, but aren’t there about 40 gazillion of them sitting on shelves in pantries right now with labels on them that say “applesauce” or “Gusto Pasta” or whatever?

2.  Eat locally grown food every week!  This may be harder to achieve since I cannot always be certain that I can find locally grown food, but I will do my best.  Since I think we need to eat more vegetables (in my household, but also as a species) and since I think it’s best for everyone  – the farmer, me, the environment – that it be locally grown, I think it is important!  The good news is that a whole lot of crap can be frozen so if I can’t find it this week, I hope to have some from last week on hand.

3.  Make more stuff rather than buy it!  I bought a handful of useful ingredients – hydrogen peroxide, baking soda, bleach, Borax, etc – and it’s amazing how many uses I have gotten out of those old-timey basics.  I’m keeping all those damn containers, so I might as well fill them!  Examples of stuff I plan to make:  laundry detergent, body wash, household cleaners, dog shampoo, and so on.

I am not a packrat (anymore) and I get edgy whenever our storage spaces fill up, but I just can’t help myself.  Didn’t Gandhi say that to believe in something and not live it, is dishonest?  I think so.

That’s all I have for now.  There will be more – resolutions about saving money and eating healthy and keeping my house in order – but those require a little more thought.

Wish me luck!

xo

Leave a Reply

